Strange Occasions for the week of Decenber 2nd, 2010

I am posting a little late tonight because I was busy trying to make Ptor from Sanctum Sanctorum Comix jealous by attending Spacenite 2. This is a great cause that I suggest you look into. Unfortunately, this delay was not too much of a problem as it was a very light week on the Doctor Strange front. It is likely that Stephen will be lost in Limbo until the folks at Marvel are ready to put him on his next step to regaining his power, or possibly updating his character with a whole new power. Until then we will likely only get a few reprints and some tangential references. Iron Man/Thor: God Complex had a very tangential reference in the form of the Crimson Dynamo, who is still being boosted by Baron Mordo’s mystical amulet. Not quite enough there to merit an inclusion in the list of Strange Occasions. This was a good week for Hellstorm: Son of Satan though, an often times Defender and long time associate of Doc Strange. He was in the Chaos War: God Squad one shot, which Doctor Strange is still not in, and he had his collector magazine come out this week. Of course, I had to open one up and peek inside.

Classic Marvel Figurine Collection – Hellstorm: Son of Satan – If you have managed to avoid this leaden narcotic published every fortnight by Eaglemoss Publications then I salute you. The “magazine” part of these magazines is a couple of pages of images of the featured character interspersed with a bit of an old article discussing their history and career highlights.  I don’t think anybody buys these magazines for the magazines though. Included with every one is a hand painted lead figure that sits on my computer desk and makes me feel silly for spending my money on stuff I really don’t need. Of course this particular one, being about a Mystical Marvel Hero, is full of mentions and pictures of Doctor Strange.

Marvel Masterworks: The Defenders vol. 2 HC – I think this may have been released last week, but my shop just got it in today. This book follows the adventures of our favorite non-team through reprints of Defenders #7 – 16, Giant-Size Defenders #1, and Avengers #115 – 118. I particularily like the Defenders War story, these comics never fail to bring a smile to my face.

Gold Digger: Books of Magic #3 – Okay, this isn’t Doctor Strange and the comic seems to be just a few sketches and a list of spells formatted as if for some role playing game. But that guy on the cover, who appears nowhere inside as far as I can tell, is obviously influenced by the Master of the Mystic Arts.

Not for lack of trying, that was all I could find to sate myself with this week. If you saw the Sorcerer Supreme Homaged Hermetic in any other titles this week please post it in the comments and I will add it to the list.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strange Occasions for the week of Decenber 2nd, 2010

  1. His name is Lei, and given that Fred Perry loves homages, he’s almost certainly a ref to Stephen. That being said, as a living spell, he’s actually more like Valkyrie. 🙂

  2. OOOoohhhhhh… I AM jealous.

    However, I managed to send off an actual ENTRY of artwork for the SPACENITE2 Bill Mantlo fundraiser.

    While I sent them a digitally “inked” B/W version, you can check out the blue-line artwork on my blog:

    http://sanctumsanctorumcomix.blogspot.com/2010/12/rom-spaceknight-illustration-final.html

    ~P~
    PTOR

Leave a Reply

