Strange Occasions for the week of August 18, 2010

Today is new comics day, or, as I like to call it, the Blackest Night. Give New Avengers a read and you will see why. I have been clinging to my cautious optimism with all the blind faith granted me by my relentless idealism, but I think it is time to admit this is not going to be a good series for Doctor Strange. I really dislike Bendis. Probably almost as much as he dislikes Doctor Strange.

New Avengers #3 – Since Doctor Strange plays a significant role, and is even on the cover, you will get a full write up, complete with spoilers, from me on Friday. For now though, ponder this question:

Don’t try too hard though, logic does not enter into it. Also, on a completely unrelated note, I hope you enjoyed that X-Statix Presents Deadgirl story, and not as a tongue in cheek bit of fun but as serious bit of comic literature and a good direction for Doctor Strange.

Thanos Imperative #2 – I missed this one from the week of July 14th, but PTOR from over at Sanctum Sanctorum Comix was kind enough to clue me in. I have never been a big reader of the cosmic stuff, Marvel or otherwise. Why explore the mysteries of space when you can explore the mysteries of mysticism? I think I have been missing out though. There is some big stuff going on in this book and it looks really interesting. The Guardians of the Galaxy even fight an alternate dimensional version of the Defenders; including Doctor Strange, Hellcat, the Hulk, Valkyrie, Nighthawk, and Namor.

If you saw the Sorcerer Supreme Poor Pupil in any other titles this week please post it in the comments and I will add it to the list.

This entry was posted in Strange Occasions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

